Town Office

Our Community



2022 Bursary Recipients Announced

October 14, 2022

In 2007, the Town of Hanna received a bequest from the estate of Mrs. Freda Geuder to establish and award a bursary fund to be known as the Fred & Freda Geuder Educational Bursary for the benefit of Hanna & District students attending post-secondary educational institutions of any kind. The bursary is to be awarded to students based on need and academic standing.

Mr. & Mrs. Geuder were longtime residents of Hanna. Mr. Geuder was a businessman, owning Geuder Electric. Mrs. Geuder was a teacher and active in the community. She served as a member of the Council for the Town of Hanna from 1974 to 1980.

Council accepted the donation of $114,106.42 and appointed three trustees to establish the parameters for the bursary and determine the recipients. The funds are deposited in a separate account and accumulate interest annually. Each year, bursaries are awarded to three students in the amount of $1,500 for a total of $4,500 awarded. Once the 2022 award cheques are cashed, the balance in the bursary account will be $64,136.74.

Members of the bursary committee for 2022, Councillor Crowle, Connie Deadlock and Melvin Lypka reviewed 11 applications and awarded the following students with a $1,500 bursary to continue their education.

  • Sarah Palmer – Bachelor of Education: Elementary Education
  • Ally Smyth – Health Sciences: Nursing
  • Christina Rowden – Bachelor of Elementary Education: Fine Arts/General